[Proof Complexity] Call for Nominations: VCLA INTERNATIONAL STUDENT AWARDS 2019 w/ Extended submission deadline: 25.3.2019

Mihaela Rozman mihaela.rozman at tuwien.ac.at
Thu Mar 14 13:33:49 CET 2019

(Extended Deadline) Call for Nominations: VCLA INTERNATIONAL STUDENT AWARDS




The Vienna Center for Logic and Algorithms (VCLA) at TU Wien (Vienna
University of Technology) seeks nominations for the annually awarded VCLA
International Student Awards for Outstanding Master and Undergraduate
Research Theses, which recognize authors of scientific works covering a very
wide range of topics on the spectrum of Logic, and Computer Science.
Extended submission deadline:  25.3.2019  




*Outstanding Master Thesis Award:  1200 EUR

*Outstanding Undergraduate Research (Bachelor) Award:  800 EUR

*The winners will be invited to present their work at an award ceremony in
Vienna, Austria in the autumn 2019




*The degree must have been awarded between November 15th, 2017, and December
31st, 2018, (inclusive).

*Students who obtained their degree at TU Wien are excluded from the




*Computational Logic, covering theoretical and mathematical foundations such
as proof theory, model theory, computability theory, Boolean satisfiability
(SAT), QBF, constraint satisfaction, satisfiability modulo theories,
automated deduction (resolution, refutation, theorem proving), non-classical
logics (substructural logics, multi-valued logics, deontic logics, modal and
temporal logics).

*Algorithms and Computational Complexity, including design and analysis of
discrete algorithms, complexity analysis, algorithmic lower bounds,
parameterized and exact algorithms, decomposition methods, approximation
algorithms, randomized algorithms, algorithm engineering, as well as
algorithmic game theory, computational social choice, parallel algorithms,
and distributed algorithms.

*Databases and Artificial Intelligence, concerned with logical methods for
modeling, storing, and drawing inferences from data and knowledge. This
includes subjects like query languages based on logical concepts (Datalog,
variants of SQL, XML, and SPARQL), novel database-theoretical methods
(schema mappings, information extraction and integration), logic
programming, knowledge representation and reasoning (ontologies, answer-set
programming, belief change, inconsistency handling, argumentation,

*Verification, concerned with logical methods and automated tools for
reasoning about the behavior and correctness of complex state-based systems
such as software and hardware designs as well as hybrid systems. This ranges
from model checking, program analysis and abstraction to new
interdisciplinary areas such as fault localization, program repair, program
synthesis, and the analysis of biological systems.


*A cover page that contains the name and contact details of the nominated
person, the title of the work for which the person is being nominated, award
category, the date on which the degree was awarded, and the name of the

*An English summary of the thesis of maximum 3 pages, excluding references
(A4 or letter page size, 11pt font min). The summary must clearly state the
main contribution of the work, its novelty, and its relevance to some of the
aforementioned areas of interest

*The CV of the nominated person, including publication list (if applicable)

*An endorsement letter from a supervisor or another proposing person. The
letter must clearly state the independent and novel contribution of the
student, and why the proposer believes the student deserves the award. The
endorsement letter may be submitted to the award committee after the
deadline for the submission of nominations has passed. 

*The full thesis


*Extended submission deadline: March 25, 2019 (AoE)

*Notification of decision: end of June 2019 

*Award ceremony: September 2019, Vienna (Austria)



Ezio Bartocci

Wolfgang Dvořák

Ekaterina Fokina

 <https://www.ac.tuwien.ac.at/people/rganian/> Robert Ganian (committee

Maximilian Jaroschek

Roman Kuznets

Martin Lackner

Bjoern Lellmann

 <http://www.kr.tuwien.ac.at/staff/ortiz/> Magdalena Ortiz (general chair)

Matteo Pascucci

 <https://www.logic.at/staffpages/revantha> Revantha Ramanayake (committee

Christoph Redl

Peter Schüller

Sebastian Skritek

Friedrich Slivovsky

Bhore Sujoy

Johannes Wallner

Antonius Weinzierl



The award is dedicated to the memory of Helmut Veith, the brilliant computer
scientist who tragically passed away in March 2016, and aims to carry on his
commitment to promoting young talent and promising researchers in these




award at logic-cs.at 


More information about the Proof-Complexity mailing list